Land Without Evil

by jeannabauer

IMG_6991

I Love My Country

Pel Moo, Saint Paul (Pel Moo is originally from Burma.)

My country is Burma. I love my country very much because I was born and I grew up there. I stayed with my family in my country when I was child. I played and went to school with my friends. My country has many kinds of languages. My country has beautiful places and many kind and helpful people.

On Friday, from across the river in a Thai-Karen village, I had my first glimpse of Kawthoolei (Karen State, Burma). It felt familiar in the way that the home of loved ones should. There were tears & I haven’t stopped thinking about my dear Brothers & Sisters in St. Paul since. No turning back until they can go home.

(Story Source: Minnesota Literacy Council’s Journeys 2011 Publication)

